top of page
Search

May 31: Today is the first day...

Updated: Jul 20, 2020

...of the rest of your life! So, we've been together for 31 days and hopefully I've given you some ideas about how to better organize your home, your belongings and your time. We are more than home organizers - when your home is organized, you become more productive in everything you do! Writing these 31 days of tips has also helped me to learn some new things and re-prioritize old things.



I started Sidney & Company 25 years ago this month. Over the years, I've learned how to organize my business papers, supplies, equipment and digital files better and better. Nine years ago I started Sidco Properties, so staying organized has become even more challenging! I struggle with filing and purging, so I'm still a work in progress... and always will be! I set small goals - i.e. file 10 pieces of paper today, or purge 100 emails, etc. - that are attainable. Usually these small starts lead to me staying with the task longer, but if it doesn't, I still have a sense of accomplishment that I did something toward my goals. I hope you learn to use this tool also: break larger tasks down into smaller parts.


At the end of the day, what I hope you take away from this is that being organized brings peace and clarity of thought to all you do. It gives a sense of order and control - something that we may lack in the other areas of our lives that are controlled by others. It is also a behavior that we model to our children - good or bad.


Take Away: As we close our 31 Days of Organizing - and begin fresh tomorrow with new skills - I want to remember three people that have made me the organizer I am today: My Mom, Dad & Husband! I've mentioned all 3 throughout the month and the ways that they've molded my skills. I hope you've had wonderful role models too. Please send me any questions if you have an organization challenge before you. May the power of organization be with you!


Let all things be done decently and in order.

1 Corinthians 14:40


About the Author: L. Sidney Irving is the owner of Sidco Properties, a real estate company dedicated to educating and assisting those that want to buy or sell a home, Sidney loves to organize herself and those around her because she believes that an organized space brings peace and fosters creativity. May the power of organization be with you!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page